The Craziest Pringles Flavor

One of my favorite things to do when I travel is to explore the local grocery store.  While this is usually more interesting when traveling abroad, I’ve sometimes been equally amused by wandering around domestic stores, especially independent ones.  Possibly the best part of this activity is finding interesting flavors of familiar brands.  For example, I spent $25 at the Tokyo airport on KitKats because of the crazy flavors – green tea, apple, cheesecake, soy flour, wasabi, and soy sauce.  (The latter two were not actually as disgusting as they sound – there was no chocolate involved – it was a wasabi-flavor coating or a soy sauce-flavor coating over some wafers.  And the soy sauce one didn’t taste anything like soy sauce. It was a unique experience, but one I don’t need to repeat.)

Anyway, it took me a day or two to locate an actual grocery store when I first moved to Singapore, as I was living downtown and my roommate only knew about the nearby expat grocery store.  So when I trekked out to the Clementi Fairprice (a good 20-minute train ride from where I was staying at the time, but I had other business in Clementi…namely trying barbequed stingray), I took my time walking slowly up and down every aisle looking at every item.  But I didn’t really find anything worth writing home about.  (Except perhaps canned pumpkin, although a more recent trip revealed they no longer have any.)

No, I did not find that item until today.  And ironically, I don’t think it’s Singaporean – or even Asian – I think it’s American.

Pringles, is after all, owned by Procter and Gamble, an American company.  That being said, you find flavors overseas that we don’t get in the States.  In Malawi, I discovered Pringles “Rice Infusion Sweet BBQ Sparerib Flavour” and Pringles “Gourmet Flame Grilled Steak and Caramelized Onion Flavour”  I am currently wondering why I did not buy these to try them…

On that first trip to a Singaporean grocery store, I did notice three such flavors: grilled shrimp, soft-shelled crab, and seaweed.  I was amused, but they didn’t strike me as that strange.  Shrimp-flavoured chips/crackers, while seemingly bizarre when I first encountered them at Epcot at a young age, are quite common in Asia, and a “Prawn Cocktail” Pringles flavor is even available in the UK.  Soft-shelled crab seemed to be an extension of that theme.  And dried seaweed is a popular snack, so why not make it into a chip flavor?  The most unusual thing was their color: the shrimp ones are pink and the seaweed ones are green.

I never got around to actually trying the flavors, until I took some home with me over Christmas to share with other people.  Today, however, I found a flavor that was so bizarre, I bought it immediately and opened it as soon as I had paid.  I give you:

The other new flavor is Lemon and Sesame, which I find about as bizarre (and consequently intriguing) – I may have to go back tomorrow to buy them.  But, really?  Who came up with these?

When I got home, I googled them.  The only thing that came up was someone from DC who had recently proclaimed on Twitter his surprise about these flavors, which leads me to believe they may be in your local grocery store as well.  That would make some sense, as blueberries are not exactly a Southeast Asian fruit.

I’m still not over the combination.  I can think of several tasty ways to mix fruits and nuts  - dried cherries/cranberries and almonds in a trail mix, grape jelly and peanut butter in a sandwich – but I don’t think I’ve ever seen blueberry and hazelnut paired together, least of all in a potato chip.  What’s next, watermelon and macadamia? Strawberry and brazil nut?  Lychee and cashew?

So, what are they like? I can taste the blueberry, and if I concentrate intently I get a hint of hazelnut, followed by a blueberry finish.  But as I walked home munching, I decided that I was probably only recognizing these flavors because of the container, and in a blind taste-test I’d have no idea what Pringle flavor I was eating.  I decided to test this hypothesis on my roommate – she said it tasted like confetti cake.

I have now consumed half the can in the name of research (once you pop, the fun don’t stop!), so I’m hoping they’re not subject to the Pringles recall that was just issued…thankfully it appears to be just the cheeseburger and taco flavors.

21 Comments

Filed under food

21 responses to “The Craziest Pringles Flavor

  1. Hi again. I came for the pie crust reference but am now reading your entries on Singapore. Great blog!

  2. gowiththeebb

    Thanks! Since the pumpkin pie post, I’ve also found graham cracker crusts (which I used for lemon meringue) at Jason’s grocery in the basement of the mall at the City Hall MRT. It was cheaper to buy it than to buy the graham crackers!

  3. Amy

    Oh man. What I wouldn’t do for some Malawi style Sweet Thai Chili Doritos! Eat up now, friend, because the options Stateside are not nearly so interesting!

  4. Ang Fast

    Hey. Just googled the blueberry and hazelnut pringles and found your post. I just ran across them in Thailand. Was too confused and missed the opportunity to try them so I’m glad you did so. The lemon sesame flavour actually sounds ok. I’m going to keep my eyes open for those!!

    • gowiththeebb

      I did get around to trying the lemon and sesame ones and tested my hypothesis that the flavors are unidentifiable on two friends, who had no idea what they were supposed to be. Maybe I should’ve given them more than one chip, because I thought they tasted like lemon…although they sort of smelled like a lemon-y cleaning product.

  5. Pingback: Thailand i reflektion: Maten « Ett glas juice

  6. Kitty

    I just popped open a tube of Blueberry & Hazelnut… if I hadn’t known what it’d been labelled, I’d be thinking why are these crisps sweet?! xD It’s strange though, I can’t find any mention of these Fruit & Nut flavors on the Pringles.com webbie…

  7. Erin

    I just found these in Mustafa’s and also rushed to buy them. Saving the opening until my foodie little sister gets here in May! Thanks for the post!

  8. MaggieRay

    I just ran across both of these flavors in Manila in May 2010. I actually like both of them. I think the Lemon one tastes like a yellow trix but I cant taste the sesame

  9. Lance

    I just was in thailand and I tried Blueberry and Hazlenut pringles. It is the worst thing I had ever tasted.

    • keren

      Totally agree with you. I am in Vanuatu for a year, and have become very used to coming across ‘copy cat’ products, sold under the same company name as the product they are copying, as there are no laws against it. I thought that these blueberry and hazelnut Pringles were just another rip off product. I finally got round to getting some today, and only ate one. They are gross. I thought they tasted like froot loops with lots of added salt….

  10. hola

    I just bought Pringles’ blueberry and hazelnut due to curiosity, and I’m munching on it while reading this blog. I chose it over lemon and sesame since blueberry and hazelnut in a potato chip sounds weirder, which made it more appealing. I’ve finished a quarter of it but I just can’t find the hazelnut in it. It actually tastes like dry salted fruit loops.

  11. david po

    Just picked up a can of these bad boys in thailand. To me tastes like a handful of mixed nuts with lots of blueberries. Definitely can taste the blueberry, cant recognize the ‘hazelnut’ but its definitely got a nutty flavour to it. Cant taste the potato at all. Will I buy them again? Probably not. Do they taste bad? not at all, actually a rather refreshing flavour. Ill forever maintain that salt and vinegar is the ultimate chip flavor, and pringles being the ultimate chip…..you get the idea. Good times tho. Great article too :) I do the same thing when I travel abroad, my friends think I’m nuts but I love wandering grocery stores in search of weird new flavours of whatever I can find….

  12. Found these on Ebay. I wasn’t sure if I wanted them, despite me being a gigantic fan of blueberries and blueberry flavored things…my girlfriend decided to buy them for me though. We shall see…

  13. I actually have a can of Blueberry/Hazelnut on my desk right now. Maybe the best flavor I ever had for Pringles. I’m shocked they are so good. And yes, they were totally crushed in the shipment.

    As for the kitkats – my buddies and I got $75 worth of them (I think around 25 flavors) shipped from Thailand last year. I was not particularly fond of the soy sauce, or anything soybean related. Didn’t have the Wasabi ones, but did get things like Buttered Baked Potato (strong butter flavor, kind of odd) and Watermelon and Salt (horrible). There was a blue kit kat with pop rocks in it too which was awesome. Can’t remember what the flavor was though – maybe Birthday Cake or something similar. If you find them (I think they are the only ones in blue color) try them.

  14. Pingback: Singapore Vacations » Blog Archive » Knocked up abroad: second trimester travel

  15. Danielle

    Oh man, I wish they had these in Australia. I found this by looking up blueberries and hazelnuts which is just an amazing combination in my opinion. I used to get blueberry yogurt and put roasted hazelnuts in it, and it was just friggin great. I’d love to try these!

  16. Pingback: Junk Food Guy Seeking: Seaweed Pringles & Let’s See How Well You Know Me? | Junk Food Guy: Your Daily Snack of Junk Food, Pop Culture, & Awkwardness

  17. annabanana

    this has reeeeaaaalllllllllllllllllyyyyy helped wif home work thnx!!!

  18. Collette

    I had these on a small malaysian island called Tioman. The strangest thing about finding them (apart from the crazy flavour) was that they were the only pringles sold in the shop and all the others were a cheap copy brand!

    I didn’t like the taste of these but I would definitely buy some more just so my friends can try them!!

Leave a Reply

